Awards for Excellence

Awards for Excellence

Nominate a pooling leader who inspires you, or a pool that has worked to improve public sector risk management. Along with peer recognition and accolades, award recipients will receive free conference registration.

Nominations may be made by any individual, including someone associated with the pool being nominated. Submit all nomination materials by 5 p.m. ET on Monday, Nov. 2, 2020.


Recognize a pool that has developed and implemented a creative idea, approach, or program to efficiently and effectively serve the public. 

Nomination Form


Recognize a leader and/or mentor in the public entity pooling community who has made strong contributions to the industry and inspires others. 

Nomination Form


Recognize someone who has promoted and advocated on behalf of public entity pooling. 

Nomination Form

Award Recipients

Performance Recipients

Leadership Recipients

2020: Tom Barnes, Chief Executive Officer, Municipal Insurance Association of British Columbia (MIABC)
John Ashton, Mike Tiffany, Founders and Principals, Ashton Tiffany
: Michael Fleming, Chief Executive Officer, CSAC Excess Insurance Authority (EIA)
2017: Lynn McNamara, Executive Director, Citycounty Insurance Services (CIS) of Oregon
2016Carol Loughlin, Executive Director, Texas Municipal League Intergovernmental Risk Pool
2014Wayne Carlson, Executive Director, Nevada Public Agency Insurance Pool (POOL) and Public Agency Compensation Trust (PACT)
2012David Brooks, Managing Director, County Commissioners Association of Ohio Property and Casualty Insurance

Service Recipients

2019: Scott Moss, Property/Casualty Trust Director/Administrator,  Citycounty Insurance Services (CIS) Oregon /Oregon Public Entity Excess Pool (OPEEP)
: Johnnie Miller, Executive Director, Utah Counties Indemnity Pool (UCIP)
2017: Pete Tritz, Administrator, League of Minnesota Cities Insurance Trust 
2014Geoffrey Beauchamp, General Counsel, Delaware Valley Insurance Trust
2012Betsy Kutska, retired President and Chief Executive Officer, Park District Risk Management Agency